Easter Egg Wreath

I love the Easter wreaths and spring wreaths that you can find on Pinterest. I knew I wanted to do something along the lines of a plastic easter egg wreath. I also knew I didn’t want to spend an arm and a leg getting materials to do it.

 

Thankfully I had some pool noodles left over from the truffula trees I’d made for the girls 3rd birthday. They’ve been floating around the house since and I”m just getting around to doing stuff with them. One noodle (well, part of one) became the wreath base, I had the tape, glue, and scissors. I also had the eggs, they’re from my purchased from last years sales. In that, I had the grass as well. The pink ribbon is left from the girls birthday wreaths this year (Fancy Nancy).

20140328_103219

Cut your noodle to the size that you want the wreath to be. Secure the ends together with a strong tape. Duct tape works great, I could only find packing tape so that’s what I did. It worked just fine.

20140328_105256

Next, start hot gluing on your eggs in whatever order you want them. It think it would be really cute to do just a blue and orange one for your favorite Bronco fan. I’m going to be watching for eggs after Easter this year for that project! You will probably have to hold your egg on for a few seconds after you put the glue on until it cools enough to stay.

20140328_110124

Once you have the whole wreath done, it will look something like this. Remember, you only need to glue on the front since that’s the only side you’ll see.

20140328_111427

I’ve seen people that leave them like this and I think it looks fine, but mine felt too sparse. I added in some bits of Easter grass to fill in the gaps. Working slowly, put a little glue in each gap- doing no more than 3 or 4 gaps at a time so you have time to put the grass on before the glue cools.

20140328_135641

Stuff the grass down into the hot glue.

20140328_135659

I used a wooden dowel, but you can use anything that would be good for poking and tucking to gently shove in all the grass.

20140328_135721

When you have all the grass done, trim off any extras and pokey outs.

Add a ribbon and bow (or however you want to hang it) and display where you desire.

20140328_142706

I’m still not convinced this is finished. I love words on wreaths so I’ll probably put on a little sign that says ‘Happy Easter’ or something on the bottom near my little bunny. (Which was a random addition- I found a box of stuff my Grandma had given me. This bunny had floppy legs in a red gingham pattern that just didn’t fit with the colors so I cut them off. It also had a Goodwill tag on the bottom, so I knew it wasn’t a family heirloom or anything.)

20140328_142711

Leave a comment